Obit: Phillips, Diana Jospehine (1858 - 1942)

Contact: Crystal Wendt

Surnames: Phillips, Martin, Wahl, Wegner, Kuenkel, Lake, Van Horn, Marg, Longenecker, Noble

----Sources: The Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark County, Wis.) 3 Dec. 1942

Phillips, Diana Josephine (27 June 1858 - 22 Nov. 1942)

Mrs. Ethan Phillips was interred in the Seif Cemetery Wednesday of last week. In her honor relatives came to Clark County, Wisconsin, gathering at the home of Mrs. Ed. Wahl for dinner, as follows: Alice Phillips, Mrs. Emma Martin, her son and three daughters, of Madison, Mr. and Mrs. D. Phillips and children of Marshfield. For supper Mrs. Wahl, a niece of Mrs. Phillips of Waupaca and Mr. and Mrs. Russell Phillips of Oshkosh.

Mrs. Phillips is survived by two daughters. The sons are David L. of Marshfield and Levitt E. of Tioga. The daughters are Mrs. Darwin Martin, and Alice, both of Madison. There are 11 grandchildren and one great grandson. A son of Mrs. Phillips had died infancy.

The Phillips family resides on a farm in Hendren Town from 1911 to 1935, having moved there from Iowa. In 1935 Lewis E. Phillips, head of the family, died, and Mrs. Phillips went to Madison, where she lived with her daughters. Her death came Sunday, Nov. 22.

For the services at Neillsville and the interment at Seif the pallbearers were: Mrs. Phillips’ old friends and neighbors, John Seif, Art Wegner, Oscar Kuenkel, Frank Laken, Fran Van Horn and Fred Marg. The services were in charge of the Rev. G. W. Longenecker.

In her early life, Mrs. Phillips was a teacher. Born June 27, 1858 and christened Diana Josephine Noble, she attended state normal in Iowa and taught in the schools of Hardin County for several years. She married Lewis E. Phillips Dec. 7, 1892.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel