News: Thorp, Wis. Area (5 Apr 1894)


Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon



Surnames: Hanson, Soloman, Stone, Wiley, Schroeder, Olson, Crothers, Lusk, Cirkel, Pallado, Kuehl, Collins, Rabanstorf, Jahnson, Lemrond, Kerbaugh, Fusee, Barr,  Garrison, Gorman, Banderob, Duysen, Koch, Richards, Leaniewsky, Goshaw, Heagle, Webster, Gerbing, Swift, Pixley, Fessenden, Waltermire


----Source: Thorp Courier (Thorp, Clark Co., WI.) April 5, 1894


Thorp, Wisconsin Area (5 April 1894)


Special election Saturday


See change in Chicago Store ad this week.


The firm of Hanson & Soloman was dissolved.


Emmet Stone was up from Withee on Sunday last.


Notice change in Wiley’s advertisement this week.


Pete Schroeder is having his saloon front painted.


Mrs. M. O. Olson visited Chippewa Falls on Monday.


Don’t forget to vote on the waterworks question Saturday.


Be sure to cast your vote at the special election Saturday.


Asa Crothers returned to his home at Big Springs on Sunday.


C. S. Lusk is erecting a good sized barn on his premises.


Not the change in the advertisement of The Thorp Mercantile Co. 


Aug. Cirkel, D. J. Pallado and Chas. Kuehl spent Sunday last at Boyd.


Miss Amy Collins is home from her school at Cadott for a two week’s vacation.


Fred Rabanstorf was appointed post master at Stanley last week in place of Leff Jahnson.


Mrs. M. Lemrond returned to Fort Howard on Monday after an extended visit here with relatives.


Miss Stella Kerbaugh returned to Neillsville on Sunday last to resume her duties as teacher in the schools on Monday.


Frank Fusee came down from Glidden on Thursday last to visit a few days with his sister, Mr. A. A. Barr and family.


Frank H. Lusk has been nominated valedictorian of his class at the Minneapolis Academy where he will graduate in June.


Miss Julia Garrison returned to Ripon College on Wednesday of last week after spending a short vacation with her parents here.


The following town committee was appointed at the caucuses held in the Town of Worden: S. Gorman, C. Banderob, and John Duysen. 


A. J. Koch went to Appleton on Saturday last to attend the funeral of his mother-in-law who died there the day previous.  Mrs. Koch went there several days before her mother’s death took place.


Geo. Richards sold his far east of the village last week to Joseph Leaniewsky for $2,000 spot cash.  We understand Mr. Richards intends moving to Oregon in a few weeks.


Buy your sash, doors and building supplies of the Thorp Mercantile Co.


Don’t stand in the way of permanent public improvements, but vote right on the bond question on Saturday next.  Waterworks will prove an everlasting benefit to the village and insure continued prosperity.


Examine our stock of Barb Wire before purchasing elsewhere, at The Thorp Mercantile Co.


Fred Rabanstorf was elected chairman of the Town of Edson by 71 majority votes over P. Goshaw.


John Heagle and Wm. Webster have leased Carl Gerbing’s saloon taking possession of the same on Monday.


Mrs. E. J. Swift of St. Louis and Mrs. H. O. Pixley, of Covert, Kansas has arrived here to attend the funeral of their mother, Mrs. H. J. Fessenden, to take place today.


Herbert Waltermire had the palm of his left hand badly lacerated on Tuesday at J. W. Cirkel & Sons factory where he is employed, by a sharp piece of heading which he was handling.


List of letters remaining in the post office, at Thorp, Wis., uncalled for, for the month ending March 31.


John Gerrow, Miss Hattie Loong, Charley Nilson, Lillie Merril, Al Meader, Miss Gertie Broughton, Frank Keilhofer, Warren Johnson, Miss Madge Brooks, J. M. Lund, Pioter Gorczycra, Otto Barko, Niels Jorgen Hansen, Sigvald Hang.  Wm. Wagner, P.M.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel