News: Clark County, Wis. - Scouts (Honor Court - 1961)


Contact: Dolores


Surnames: Grether, Schneider, Sowerwine, Hendrickson, Huddleston, Schmidt, Denny, Schlegelmilch, Short, Carl, Roberts, Beilfuss, Feig, Orosco, Siebert, Smith, Nelson, Nehs, Hoesly, Mattson, Ruedy, Quicker, Tibbett, Russell, Peters


----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) December 7, 1961


Scouts (7 December 1961)


About 100 Scouts, Explorer leaders and parents attended Boy Scout Court of Honor last week Wednesday evening.  The Eagle Scout award was presented to Tim Grether by Scoutmaster Richard Schneider and the Rev. Jacob Grether, father of Tim and advisor to Explorer Post No. 64.


This was the fifth Eagle Scout award to be presented in the history of scouting in Neillsville.


Stanley L. Sowerwine, executive of Eau Claire, presented an award to the Rev. Jacob Grether for outstanding leadership in the Explorer program in Neillsville.


Awards were also presented to Randy Hendrickson by Warren Huddleston, assistant explorer advisor; Star Scout to David Schmidt and Marvin Denny; first class to Norbert Schlegelmilch by Kenneth Shot, assistant scoutmaster; merit badges to Alan Carl, Marvin Denny, Tim Grether, Stephan Roberts, David Schmidt, by the Rev. Grether.


Mark Beilfuss, Randy Feig, Craig Huddleston, Leyne Orosco, Steve Siebert, Iran Smith were invested as Tenderfoot Scouts.  Les Nelson, of the National Scout Council in Chicago, attended and presented the Star rank awards.


DuWayne Nehs, son of Mrs. Clara Nehs and the late V. W. Nehs, was the first scout in Clark County to receive the Eagle award. The ceremony was held in Neillsville in 1934, with Jacob H. Hoesly as the scoutmaster.


Donald Mattson, son of Mr. and Mrs. John Mattson, received the Eagle award in 1946.  Earl Ruedy was the scoutmaster.


In January, 1953, Eagle awards went to Hubert H. Quicker, Jr., and Jack Tibbett, Jr. The late Mark Russell, at that time a Clark County game warden, was scoutmaster.  Quicker AND Tibbett did much of their work under Dr. Robert D. Peters who preceded Russell as scoutmaster.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel