News: Clark County (Rural Coops - 1957)


Contact: Audrey Roedl




Surnames: Howard, Shaars, Dallman, Wenzel, Horn, Loucks, Stremikis, Krultz, Neuman, Scherf, Krutsch, Goessl, Barth


Source; The Loyal Tribune (Loyal, Clark County, WI  20 June 1957)

The Importance of cooperatives in rural communities was stressed by Prof. Marvin Shaars, chairman of agriculture economics at the University of Wisconsin, when speaking June 11 before 1200 members at the 20th anniversary meeting of Clark Electric Co-op in the Greenwood high school.


Vernon G. Howard, Granton, the co-op’s president, gave highlights of a 20th anniversary history included as part of the annual report. Both Howard and Manager W. A. Dallman reported on operational statistics. They showed an increase in the per member per month usage of electricity from 235 kilowatts in 1951 to 392 kilowattts n 1956.


Manager Dallman issued a warning against "cheap" wiring jobs, which he described as worse than the old and inadequate wiring installation that a member may already have.


Three new directors were elected to three years terms on the board. New men are Glenn Horn, Rt. 3, Greenwood; Milfred Wenzel, Rt. 1, Withee, and L. F. Loucks, a former director, Rt. 1, Abbotsford.


On a point of order raised by Emil Luchterhand, Unity, there were nominations and balloting for a successor to Mile Kruitz, Sr., who became ineligible by moving from the co-op service area. August Stemikis, Rt. 1, Willard, replaces Krultz.


The board re-elected Howard as president; David Krutsch, Neillsville, as vice president succeeding Klein, and Loucks as secretary-treasurer succeeding Scherf. Other directors are Rilay Neuman, Colby; John Barth, Thorp, and Irving Goessl, Curtiss. Howard was re-elected as a director-nominee to Dairyland Power Cooperative and Neuman, as a director-nominee to Wisconsin Electric Cooperative.


A women’s program was held in the afternoon at the co-op office with Mrs. Irma Coates, the co-op’s home economics advisor, in charge.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel