News: Granton (Civic Club - 1965)


Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon



Surnames: Hanson, Hales, Gardner, Trimberger, Bergemann, Bertz, Steiner, Paradis, Schmidtke, Williams, Crothers, Garbisch, Virnig, Weyland, Tharp


----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) November 25, 1965


Granton (Civic Club - 1965)


The November meeting of the Granton Women’s Civic Club was held November 17 at the home of Mrs. Alvin Hanson.  Mrs. Albert Hales and Mrs. Clayton Gardner were the hostesses.


Mrs. Walter Trimberger, program chairman, introduced John Bergemann, of Neillsville, who showed slides and spoke on civil defense.  Mr. Bergeman, civil defense chairman for Clark County, was assisted in explanation of the program by Jack Bertz of Neillsville.


The meeting was opened by Mrs. Francis Steiner, club president. Reports were given by Miss Lois Paradis, secretary; Mrs. William Schmidtke, Sunshine chairman; and Miss Mabel Williams, treasurer.


Mrs. Jack Crothers reported on the district board meeting she attended in Eau Claire October 20.  Mrs. Marvin Garbisch announced that Christmas seals would soon be in the mail.


Mrs. William Schmidtke gave a report on the Samson Memorial Library, which the club helps to support.


A history of the club has been requested by the district.  Mrs. Walter Trimberger and Mrs. William Schmidtke were appointed to compile the record.


The club’s Christmas party will be held December 8 at the home of Mrs. Adrian Virnig, beginning with a 7 p.m. dinner.  Miss Helen Weyland, publicity chairman, will be in charge of entertainment.


Mrs. Marilyn Tharp joined the club.


The January meeting topic will be, "New Drugs."  More details on this meeting will be published later.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel