School: Colby High School (Class of 1957 Reunion - 1962)

Contact: Stan

Surnames: Schraufnagel, Wenzel, Bauman, Vogler, Sazama, Schulz, Schnabel, Weix, Nienow, Dallman, Johnson, Jeske, Allmann, Gottschalk, Unitedt, Grell, Firnstahl, Primeau, Schuster, Gutenberger, Decker, Redmann, Runzheimer, Beyer, Ewert, Blanchard, Christianson, Goldschmidt

----Source: Colby Phonograph (Colby, Clark Co., Wis.) 09/06/1962

Class of 1957 Holds Reunion

The 1957 graduating class of Colby High School held its five year class reunion at the Colby Hotel on Saturday, August 25, 1962. The event began with a 7:30 dinner served in the Coral Room. Master of ceremonies for the affair was Allen Schraufnagel, Witen, a former teacher of the group.

Mrs. Sharon (Wenzel) Bauman read letters from classmates who were unable to be present and one from Mrs. Charlotte Vogler, a class advisor in 1957, who also could not be present. Each member of the class gave a brief account of his life in the past five years. Prizes were received by the following class members: Dan Sazama, sending in the earliest reply; Arland Schulz, coming the farthest distance; Mr. and Mrs. Don Schnabel (Rita Weix) and Mr. and Mrs. Allen Schraufnagel (Nancy Nienow), the longest married; Mr. and Mrs. Dennis Dallman (Eileen Johnson) and Mr. and Mrs. Bill Jeske (Donna Allmann), the most recently married; Mr. and Mrs. Lavern Gottschalk and Mr. and Mrs. Harry Untiedt (Pat Grell), the couples with the youngest babies; Mr. and Mrs. Emmanuel Firnstahl (Mary Primeau), Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Schuster (Eldora Gutenberger), Mr. and Mrs. Merlin Bauman (Sharon Wenzel), and Mr. and Mrs. Harry Untiedt, couples with the most children.

A discussion was held on the possibility of a future reunion. It was decided to hold another one in five years. Mrs. Mary Firnstahl was appointed chairman with Mrs. Kenneth Decker, Mrs. Gordon Schuster and Gary Nienow to serve on the planning committee. The chairmen for this year’s reunion were Mrs. Merlin Bauman and Mrs. Ray Redmann (Karen Runzheimer).

The following persons attended the reunion: Mr. and Mrs. Bill Jeske, Cambria; Edward Beyer, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Norman Ewert (Ruth Blanchard), Madison; Mr. and Mrs. Virgil Christianson, Marshfield; Mr. and Mrs. Bob Johnson (Donna Decker), Milwaukee; Richard Goldschmidt, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Lavern Gottschalk, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Harry Untiedt, Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Schuster, Marshfield; Mr. and Mrs. Bernard *** Note: The remainder of this article was missing.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel