School: Abbotsford High School (Graduation - 1946)

Contact: Stan

Surnames: Hotvedt, Miller, Haderlein, Graff, Wernzenski, Johnson, Hoeft, Schreiber, Kallien, Wibben, Neitzel, Shields, Alexander, Baronsky, Colby, Cox, Ellerman, Ellingson, Gosse, Hinke, Kleinstick, Kuehnast, Lewandowski, Lieders, Meyer, Radeztsky, Rueden, Timm

----Source: Abbotsford Tribune (Abbotsford, Clark County, Wis.) 05/23/1946

Twenty-Five Graduate Wed. From Abbotsford High

The graduating class of the Abbotsford high school took their places on the stage in the high school assembly to the music of the Coronation March from The Prophet," played by Miss Mary Ann Hotvedt, Wednesday evening at 8:00 o’clock. They all wore gray gowns and mortar boards and a yellow rose, their class flower.

There was the invocation by the Rev. E. R. Miller, the address of welcome by Geraldine Haderlein, class salutatorian, and a program of vocal and instrumental solos by various members of the graduating class.

Prof. M. C. Graff of the University was the commencement speaker and the farewell address was given by Marion Hoeft, the valedictorian.

The following awards were given by F. E. Wernzenski, principal:

Daughter of the American Revolution, Certificate, to Geraldine Haderlein; American Legion award to Jerold Johnson; Valedictorian award to Maron Hoeft; Salutatorian award to Geraldine Haderlein; Music award to Carmeletta Schreibe, Argriculture Award to Elton Kallien; Athletic award, Lyle Wibben; Home Economics award, Ruth Neitzel; Readers Digest award, Marion Hoeft; University of Wisconsin award, Marion Hoeft.

Dr. G. G. Shields, director of the school board, presented the diplomas to the following:

Alice Alexander, Janet Baronsky, Wilma Colby, Margaret Cox, Loretta Ellerman, Arvin Ellingson, Maynard Gosse, Geraldine Haderlein, Joan Hinke, Marion Hoeft, Jerome Johnson, Jerold Johnson, Ramona Johnson, Elton Kallien, Shirley Kleinstick, Harold Kuehnast, Richard Lewandowski, Maurine Lieders, Melvin Meyer, Ruth Neitzel, Arlet Radetzsky, Marilyn Rueden, Carmeletta Schreiber, Nadonis Timm and Lyle Wibben.

All were present except Richard Lewandowski, who recently moved away.

The seniors had chosen for their class motto, "Through Trials To Triumph;" the yellow rose for their flower and scarlet and silver for their colors.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel