School: Clark County, Wis. (Math Teams - 1961)


Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon


Surnames: Kurasz, Langreck, Robertson, Dorn, Meyer, Schwarze, Peters, Potocnik, Zier, Boe, Schultz, Dillenbeck, Quicker


----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) February 23, 1961


Clark County, Wis. Schools (Math Teams - 1961)


Neillsville High School mathematics teams won top honors in two events, and the Greenwood High School team topped the field in another, in the annual Clark County High School mathematics contest held February 14 in Greenwood.  Greenwood teams took second and third in the other events.


Owen-Withee High School placed second in two contests and Dorchester was awarded a third.


A total of 110 represented Granton, Greenwood, Loyal, Owen-Withee, Abbotsford, Colby, Dorchester, Thorp and Neillsville in the events. Traveling trophies were awarded schools whose teams scored the highest number of points in each event.


A three-student team from Neillsville scored a clean sweep.  Helen Kurasz and Kaila Langreck were tied for first and Sandra Robertson took second.  Five students tied for third place: Robert Dorn of Abbotsford, Charles Meyer of Colby, Stanley Schwarze and Clarence Peters of Greenwood, and Burton Potocnik of Owen-Withee.


The five student Greenwood team won the trophy in the algebra contest: Owen-Withee was second, Dorchester third. Becky Zier of Dorchester was top individual scorer, Janie Boe of Greenwood was second; Leroy Schultz of Dorchester, third; Marjorie Dillenbeck of Greenwood, fourth; and Donald Quicker of Neillsville, fifth.


In the mathematics contest, which included freshmen general (missing portion).



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel