School: Indian School (75 Anniversary - 1954)


Indian School and Mission Observing 75th Anniversary  (1954)  



Surnames: Friedll, Deitz, Stuki, Casselmann, Grossheusch


----Source:  Wisconsin Rapids Daily Tribune, Wis. Rapids, WI (Wood County), Friday, September 24, 1954, pg 8


Celebration of the 75th anniversary of the Winnebago Indian School and Mission, sponsored by the Evangelical and Reformed Church, will take place Sunday, Sept. 26, at Neillsville.


Both the morning service at 10:30 and the afternoon service at 2 o'clock will be held in the new Neillsville High School auditorium.


The Rev. Josias Friedll, D. D., Wautoma, member of the Indian Mission committee is to deliver the anniversary sermon at the morning service which will include a message from the board of national missions by the Rev. Purd E. Deitz, D D, general secretary, a welcome by Benjamin Stuki, superintendent of the school, and hymns by the Indian School children.


Speaker at the afternoon service will be the Rev. A. V. Casselmann, Reading Pa., author of the book "The Winnebago Finds a Friend."  There is to be recognition of veteran missionaries by the Rev. V. O. Grossheusch, chairman of the Indian Mission committee, and a pageant is planned as a special feature.


The Neillsville Women's Guild is to provide coffee, cold drinks, and sandwiches at the Indian School grounds, and Winnebago handicraft will be for sale.  Trips through the Indian School and to the Old Mission may be arranged.


All churches and church organizations in the area are invited to participate, especially the St. John's Evangelical and Reformed Churches of Wisconsin Rapids and Arpin.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel