School: Granton H.S. Class of 1930 (35 Year Reunion - 1965)


Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon



Surnames: Garbisch, Wolkenhauer, Lawrence, Elmhorst, Altenburg, Vandeberg, Bender, Johanknecht, Coyle, Crandall, Daniels, Gardner, Haines, Hammond, Jacobi, Schmitt, Johnson, Quicker, Lee, Mortimer, Retta, Scharf, Potts, Schlinsog, Peterson, nelson, Bartz, Klix,  Ferguson, Gall, Happe, Swenson, Ott, Schaefer, Trimberger, Wierenzinski, Tucker, Witte, Wright, McConnell


----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) July 1, 1965


Granton High School Class of 1930 (35 Year Reunion - 1965)


The class of 1930 of Granton High School held a reunion recently in observance of their graduation 35 years ago.  Sixteen members of the original class of 28 attended the reunion at Club 10 east of Neillsville.  The table was decorated in the class colors, blue and silver, and the class flower, the American Beauty Rose. The class motto was "Honor Lieth in Honest Toil."


Mrs. Alfred (Florence Garbisch) Wolkenhauer of Burnett, as mistress-of-ceremonies, read a story of the members four years of high school which she composed for the occasion.


The old school song, "Boosting the Old High School" was sung by Mrs. Edward Garbisch, Mrs. A. Wolkenhauer, Mrs. Gib Lawrence and Mrs. Frederick Elmhorst.


Those attending the reunion were: Mr. and Mrs. Chris (Florence Altenburg) Vandeberg of Neillsville; Mr. and Mrs. Russell (Marie Bender) Johanknecht of Waupun; Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert Coyle, Mr. and Mrs. Douglas Crandall, Mr. and Mrs. Frederick (Christine Daniels) Elmhorst, Mr. and Mrs. Russell Gardner, Mr. and Mrs. Francis Haines, all of Granton; Mrs. Martin (Ruth Hammond) Garbisch of Beloit; Mrs. Vincent (Anita Jacobi) Schmitt of Belgium; Mr. and Mrs. Hubert H. (Nellie Johnson) Quicker of Neillsville; Mr. and Mrs. John (Guyla Lee) Vandeberg of Beaver Dam; Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert (Helen Mortimer) Lawrence and Mr. and Mrs. Edward (Emma Retta) Garbisch of Granton; Mr. and Mrs. LaRue (Nina Scharf) Potts of Greenwood; and Ewald Schlinsog of Granton; and a teacher, Mrs. James (Veronica Peterson) Nelson of Fond du Lac.


Members unable to attend were: Mrs. Glenn (Lenore Bartz) Klix of Menomonee Falls; Forest Bender of Yakima, Wash.; Mrs. Henry (Dorothy Daniels) Elmhorst of Neillsville; Glenn Ferguson of Yakima, Wash.; Clyde Gall of Denver, Colo.; Mrs. Lester (Verna Happe) Swenson of Marshfield; Hazel Ott of Chili; Gerald Schaefer of Neillsville; Victor Trimberger of Albuquerque, N. M.; Mrs. Allen (Bernice Wierenzinski) Tucker of Milwaukee; and Alex Witte of Racine.


One member of the class, Mrs. Roy (Olive Wright) McConnell is deceased.  A candle was lit and a poem was read in her memory.


The following awards were given: coming the farthest distance, Mrs. Martin Garbisch of Beloit; first married, Mrs. James Nelson, teacher, of Fond du Lac; last married, Douglas Crandall; changed the least, Mrs. Hubert H. Quicker; least hair, Russell Gardner; smallest waist, Mrs. Martin Garbisch; gained the most, Ewald Schlinsog; bachelor, Ewald Schlinsog; whitest hair, Mrs. Alfred Wolkenhauer; most famous, Mrs. LaRue Potts.  The door prize was won by Francis Haines.


The committee in charge of the reunion consisted of Mrs. Garbisch, Mrs. Quicker, Mrs. Elmhorst, Mrs. Wolkenhauer and Mrs. Johanknecht.  The members voted to hold another reunion in five years.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel