School: Colby H.S. Class of 1949 (Reunion - 1969)


Surnames: Dins, Gutenberger, McKernon, Hedler, Haas, Kaiser, Barr, Schuster, Thede, Farning, Blanchard, Packard, Brodziski, Schultz, Royn, Grieser, Sazama, Podevels

----Source: Tribune/Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 07/16/1964

The class of 1949 of the Colby High School held a reunion at the Colby Hotel July 4, 1969.

A social and cocktail hour was held from 6:15 to 7:30, followed by a family style dinner.

Twenty-six classmates from a class of 51 attended.

Allen Dins acted as master of ceremonies.

Arnold McKernon of Mayville was the guest at the reunion. He was a teacher and coach at Colby. Mrs. McKernon, who also taught at the high school, was unable to accompany her husband.

The class history as it was recorded in the yearbook, was read by James Gutenberger. Letters from various classmates were read by Delores Hedler. The yearbook was used to call the roll and the classmates present each tol a few things about themselves.

For those not present, Maxine Haas told where they are located.

A moment of silence was held in respect to Mercedes (Kaiser) Barr, the only deceased member of the class.

Comical gifts were presented to the following: first reservation made, Gordon Schuster; coming the greatest distance, Maxine (Farning) Haas; Most children (seven each), Jean (Blanchard) Packard and James Gutenberger; youngest child, Mary (Sazama) Brodziski; most gray hair, Vivian (Schultz) Royn; least hair, Milton Grieser.

A round of applause was given Maxine Haas for doing all the corresponding and having contacted every member of the class. The reunion committee, consisting of Mrs. Haas, Delores Hedler, Allen Dins, James Gutenberger and Junior Podevels, was given a standing vote of thanks for the wonderful job they had done in planning the reunion and were asked to serve as the committee for the next reunion to be held in five years.

The tables were decorated with bud vases holding long stemmed yellow roses tied with green and gold ribbons, the class flower and colors. These were presented by Allen Dins.

Following the banquet, an informal get together was held at the North Side Bar.

The following classmates attended: Mr. and Mrs. William Bauer, Weyauwega; (Jean Blanchard) Mrs. Casey Packard, Brooklyn; Allen Dins, Colby; (Joyce Erdman) Mr. and Mrs. Harold Degenhardt, Curtiss; Mr. and Mrs. Melvin Ewert, Germantown; (Maxine Farning) and Mrs. George Haas, Unity; (Delores Firnstahl) Mr. and Mrs. J. Hedler, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Milton Grieser, Stratford; Mr. and Mrs. James Gutenberger, Colby; Wal.. Hamann, Colby; Herbert Hoernke, Waukesha; (Geraldine Keller Mrs. Elroy Deithman, Spencer; (Doris Langjahr) Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Drexler, Marshfield; (E Mossing), Marshfield; (Al.. Nosbisch) Mr. and Mrs. Ar.. Gottschalk, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Nystrom, Embarrass; (Doris Oehmichen) Mr. and Mrs. Al H..., Sheboygan; (Gloriette Olson) Mr. and Mrs. Jordan Ganz, La Crosse; Mr. and Mrs. Albert Podevels, Colby; (Mary Sazama) Mr. and Mrs. Frank Brodziski; Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Schillinger, Wis. Rapids; (Beatrice Schoelzel) Mr. and Mrs. O. Christianson, Wausau; Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Schuster, Marshfield; Norman Sill and friend, Racine; Marvin Thede and friend, Shannon, Ill.

The following were unable to attend: (Betty Berg) Mrs. Edward Miller, Loyal; Clyde Brehm, Kewaskum; (Agnes Brill) Mrs. Victor Bergs, Albuquerque, N.M.; (Loraine Diedrich) Mrs. Joseph Werlinger, Milwaukee; James Dorst, Pomona, Calif.; (Marcella Hanson) Mrs. Frank Martin, Honolulu, Hawaii; (Marianne Hofmann) Mrs. Richard Jerabeth, Oakfield; Elmer Jewett, Santa Paula, Calif.; (Estelle Kunze) Mrs. Theodore Kulas, Allenton; (Audrey Leu) Mrs. Carl Hardrath, Abbotsford; (Faith Mabbott) Mrs. Ernest Matson, Ellsworth; Don Premeau, San Franciso, Calif.; (Hildegarde Rankel) Mrs. Vito Dizonna, Chicago, Ill.; (Barbara Rasmussen) Mrs. Eugene Gumz, Colby; (Patricia Reeves) Mrs. Elmer Meissner, Mancelona, Mich.; Rev. Wilbert Remus, Paynesville, Minn.; (Betty Rex) Mrs. Kenneth Blazel, Medford; Jack Schantini, Atlanta, Georgia; Ronald Scheel, Milwaukee; (Delores Schultz) Mrs. Alvin Erstad, Madison; (Virginia Voelker, Mrs. Leo Stecker, Park Falls; George Vrana, Rochelle, Ill.; William Waldhardt, Appleton; (Laura Weis) Mrs. Leonard Reise, Colby.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel