School: Owen H.S. Class of 1940 (25th Reunion – 1965)


Surnames: Nissen, Schinke, Vickers, Shattuck, Reed McCrory, Matka, Schultz, Sommer, Weisbrod, Balts, Blum, Wendt, Bohlman, Bower, Wanke, Garces, Mattila, Peterson, Herrick, Hilt, Larsen, Upjohn, Mattson, Mutka, Olson, Schuette, Vaughn, Page, Nikkinen, Pohl, Schlinkert, Sorenson, Kallio, Lehnen, Mauel

---------Source: OWEN ENTERPRISE (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 08 Jul 1965

The 1940 class of the Owen High School and their special guests met July 3, 1965 at the Woodland Hotel for the silver Anniversary of their graduation. 49 people were present at the banquet, which followed a tour of the new Owen-Withee High School.

Clark Nissen, master of ceremonies, called the roll, at which time each class member gave an account of what had happened to him since the 1960 reunion, and letters were read from those unable to attend. Prizes were awarded to the following people: Bernadean Schinke for having come the farthest; Dorothy (Vickers) Shattuck for having the oldest child and Freda (Reed) McCrory, the youngest; Vernon Sommer for having the largest family; Mr. and Mrs. Vilho Mutka for being the most recently married; Mr. Albert Schultz for being the most faithful faculty member.

Those attending were Dr. and Mrs. Louis Weisbrod, New Richmond; Mr. and Mrs. Lester Balts (Esther Blum), Mr. and Mrs. Cecil Wendt, and Miss Helen Bohlman and guests, Eau Claire; Mr. and Mrs. Harry Bower, Bellwood, Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. Orlyn Wanke and Mrs. Lynn Garces (Ina Mattila), Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Peterson (Gwen Herrick) and Mr. and Mrs. Vernon Sommer, Curtiss; Dr. and Mrs. William Hilt, Merrill; Mr. and Mrs. James Larsen, Withee; Mr. and Mrs. Richard Upjohn (Thelma Mattson), Rib Lake; Mr. and Mrs. Vilho Mutka, Horicon; Mr. Joe Olson and Mrs. And Mrs. Orville Schuette (Kathryn Peterson), Unity; Mr. and Mrs. Dallas Vaughn (Marian Page), Watertown; Mr. and Mrs. Leslie Nikkinen (Louise Pohl), Lake Forest, Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. Neil McCrory (Freda Reed), Oak Park, Ill.; Miss Bernadean Schinke, South Bend, Ind.; Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Schlinkert, Crete, Ill. Mr. Everett Sorenson, Minneapolis; and Mr. and Mrs. Toivo Kallio, Mr. and Mrs. Lehnen (Irene Mauel), Mr. and Mrs. Clark Nissen, and Mr. and Mrs. George Shattuck (Dorothy Vickers), Owen, Mr. Albert Schultz of Neenah represented the faculty.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel