School: NHS Class of 1924 (50 Year Reunion - 1974)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Allen, Bandelow, Durst, Guthrie, Eisentraut, Hemp, Frantz, Volkmann, Glass, Ballam, Faulkner, Henning, Lowe, Cendt, Meddaugh, Kissling, Mundt, Reidel, Neverman, Olson, Schwarze, Roder, Barron, Ruddock, Hrasky, Skyler, Sontag, Stalcup, Tolaney, Jeras, Vine, Suckow, Kissinger, Wildish, Church, Wilke, Counsell, Hansen, Hauge, Cole, Brown, Morse, Ruchaber, Mortensen, Stelloh, Anderson, Van Winkle, Arndt, McDonough, Bradford, Zaleskas, Drescher, Rusch, Foote, Mueller, Frechette, DeFoe, Glasow, Strangfeld, Gurgel, Struebing, Hartung, Hogenson, Reinhard, Kueng, Irish, Portz, Fredrickson, Sielaff, Cartensen, Swann, Walder, Seybold, Wilger, Ferguson, Barton, Begley, Bradbury, Dahlke, Dux, High, Kelly Schlinkert, Schroeder, Stoerck, Wahl, Warren, Wasserberger, Waterman

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 5/30/1974

NHS Class of 1924 (50 year Reunion - 1974)

Twenty-three members of the Neillsville High School Class of 1924 gathered Sunday evening at Bali Hai supper club for a 50th anniversary observance. It was the group’s first class reunion.

Class members and spouses present were as follows: Willard Allen and Mrs. Allen of Neillsville, Leland Bandelow and Mrs. Bandelow of Menomonie, Mrs. Dale (Naomi Durst) Guthrie and Mr. Guthrie of Springfield, Or., Mrs. Paul (Helen Eisentraut) hemp of Rochester, Mn, Mrs. Paul )Ruby Frantz) Volkmann and Mr. Volkmann of Neillsville, Mrs. H. V. (Mercedes Glass) Ballam and Mr. Ballam of Whitefish Bay, Mrs. Theodora Hemp Faulkner of Rantoul, Il., Lt. Col. Dora Henning of Tacoma, Wa., Mrs. Howard (Ruth Lowe) Cendt and Mr. Cendt of Wausau, Mrs. Alice Meddaugh Kissling of Granton, Mrs. Gerhardt (Viorene Mundt) Reidel and Mr. Reidel of Colby, Cyril Neverman and Mrs. Neverman of Joliet, Il., Mrs. Ewald (Sarah Olson) Schwarze and Mr. Schwarze of Greenwood, Mrs. Alice Roder Barron of Elgin, Il., Mrs. William (Margaret Ruddock) Hrasky and Mr. Hrasky of Neillsville, August P. (Skyta) Skyler and Mrs. Skyler of Glenview, Il., Mrs. Jean Sontag Stalcup of Lubbock, Tx., Mrs. Angela Tolaney Jeras of Lyons, Il., Claude Vine and Mrs. Vine of Lake Geneva, Mrs. Roy (Lettie Vine) Suckow and Mr. Suckow of Neillsville, Mrs. Alvin (Ruth Vine) Kissinger and Mr. Kissinger of Chili, Mrs. George (Leah) Church and Mr. Church and Mrs. Marvin (Helen Wilke) Counsell and Mr. Counsell, all of Neillsville.

Guests were former Neillsville High School Principal and Mrs. William C. Hansen of Stevens Point, Mr. and Mrs. Harry Hauge of Mosinee and Mr. and Mrs. Frank Brown. Mrs. Hauge, the former Miss Sadie Cole, and Mrs. Brown were school librarians. Mrs. Olivia Morse Ruchaber, who taught English at Neillsville High School, was able to attend because of illness.

Willard Allen, chairman of the reunion planning committee, served as master of ceremonies. Other committee members were Mrs. Hrasky, Mrs. Schwarze, Mrs. Church, Mrs. Volkmann, Mrs. Kissling, Mrs. Counsell and Mrs. Suckow. Table decorations were arranged by the committee.

A social hour beginning at 5 p.m. was followed by a 6 p.m. dinner. The program began after the meal.

A prayer in memory of deceased classmates was led by Mrs. Kissling and a plaque with names of the deceased was made by Mrs. Hrasky. The class history was read by Mrs. Counsell.

A special cake, a replica of the old high school, was baked and decorated by Mrs. Carol Mortensen and was provided by Mrs. Hrasky, Mrs. Kissling, Mrs. Church and Mrs. Counsell.

Letters from absent classmates were read by Mrs. Schwarze.

Each class member present was asked to introduce his or her spouse and five a resume of events since leaving high school.

A candle arrangement was presented to the guest of honor, Mr. Hansen, and two prizes were awarded to Mrs. Cyril Neverman and Lt. Col. Henning.

The Class of ’24 is extremely proud of the artistry of Mrs. Mercedes (Glass) Ballam. She did all the art work for the 1924 class annual.

Her recent winter project was to create paintings of the old North Side School, the old South Side elementary school, and the old High school. The paintings were brought here for the class to view and are to be presented to the First National Bank as a memorial to her father, the late Fred Stelloh, president of the bank for many years.

Class members unable to attend the reunion were as follows: Eleanora Anderson Van Winkle of San Pedro, CA., Alice Arndt McDonough of Redding, Ca., Irene Bradford Zaleskas of Rockford, Il., Adella Drescher Rusch of Eustis, Fl., Mary Foote Mueller of West Allis, Beulah Frechette DeFoe of Waukesha, Elizabeth Glasow Strangfeld of Neillsville, Ione Gurgel Struebing of Reedsburg, Clarence Hartung of Carson City, Nv., Thomena Hogenson Reinhard of Green Bay, Laura Kueng Irish of Salem, Or., Frances Portz Fredrickson of Hayward, Dorothy Sielaff Cartensen of Los Angeles, Ca., Herbert Swann of Pinetop, Az., Marjorie Walder Seybold of Madison, Leo Wilger of El Cajon, Ca., and Esther Ferguson of Arpin.

Deceased members of the class of 1924 are: Elmer Barton, Archie Begley, Lewis Bradbury, Ruth Dahlke, Agnes Dux, Arthur Dux, Erna Hansen, Clyde high, Margaret Kelly, Erna Schlinkert, Rose Schroeder, Walter Stoerck, Marion Wahl, Ruth Warren, Harry Wasserberger and Elva Waterman.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel