Bio: Celesnik, Gloria – Greenwood H.S. (Betty Crocker Award – 1961)


Surnames: Celesnik

----Source: Greenwood Gleaner (Greenwood, Clark Co., Wis.) 09 Feb 1961

Gloria Gean Celesnik has been named the 1961 Betty Crocker Homemaker of Tomorrow at Greenwood Community High School.

Having received the highest score in a written examination on homemaking knowledge and attitudes, taken by graduating seniors in her school, she becomes the candidate for the state Homemaker of Tomorrow award, which will be announced in March.

Each school Homemaker of Tomorrow will receive an award pin, manufactured by Jostens and representing the slogan, "Home is Where the Heart Is." The examination papers of school Homemakers of Tomorrow will be entered in competition to name the state's Homemaker of Tomorrow.

The $110,000 homemaking education program sponsored by General Mills offers a $1,500 scholarship to the first ranking girl in each state, and $500 scholarship to the state's second ranking participant.

State Homemakers of Tomorrow and their faculty advisors receive an expense-paid educational tour to New York City, Colonial Williamsburg, Va., and Washington, D.C., April 8-13, the trip culminating in the announcement of The All-American Homemaker of Tomorrow, whose scholarship is increased to $5,000. Second, third and fourth ranking Homemakers of Tomorrow in the nation will have their scholarships raised to $4,000, $3,000, and $2,000, respectively.

The testing and judging is conducted by Science Research Associates of Chicago. With a record 402, 786 girls in 12,633 of the nation's schools participating this year, the Betty Crocker Search has enrolled more than two million girls in its seven-year history.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel