School: Thorp H.S. Class of 1961 (15 Yr. Reunion – 1971)


Surnames: Bandor, McQuillan, Garbarski, Boie, Smith, Lotz, Tetzner, Salander, Pabich, Barth, Dallas, Andruszkiewicz, Alger, Ruda, Gostomski, Szymanski, Juzwiak, Salvach, Hicks, Moskiewicz, Maier, Bielecki, Budzinski, Burmeister, Gessler, Buss, Cerven, Butek, Valek, Ciolkosz, Danielewicz, Fisher, Bower, Giwojna, Hadzima, Hempleman, Halida, Hmielak, Keating, Kmieciak, Kuester, LaBonte, Lindquist, Milawski, Podhola, Raether, Duce, Roberts, Rosiejka, Schmidt, Schultze, Szczech, Boh, Tomczak, Truckey, Wisnewski

----Source: THORP COURIER (Thorp, Clark County, Wis.) 19 Aug 1971

Forty members of the Thorp High School class of 1961, with their wives, husbands or guests, enjoyed an August 6th, and 7th, 1971 weekend of class reunion festivities.

On Friday evening a pre-reunion picnic was held at the Louis Andruszkiewicz home.

On Saturday, the evening began with cocktails at 6:30 p.m. at the Thorp Legion Hall, followed by dinner at 7:30 p.m. The class colors of blue and white were carried out in table decorations, as well as the floral centerpiece.

Invocation was given by Larry Bandor, followed by a moment of silence, paying tribute to two deceased members, Dick McQuillan and Gerald Garbarski.

Rich Boie served as emcee for the evening's program, welcoming faculty, class members, and guests. All four of the class advisors, Miss Darlene Smith of Green Bay, Mrs. Eloise Lotz of Edgar, Mr. Jack Tetzner, and Mr. Leon Salander of Thorp were in attendance, with each called upon for a brief speech.

Roll call was then conducted by Rich Boie and each member in turn introduced their spouse or guest. Phil Pabich read messages from classmates unable to attend.

The class prophecy was read by Ed Barth, followed by Rick Dallas and Lois Andruszkiewicz reading the class quips. Presentation of awards was next, with Sharon (Ruda) Dallas and Peggy (Alger) Maier doing the honors. Prizes were awarded to John Gostomski for coming the farthest, and for being the most recently married; Marlene (Szymanski) Juzwiak for coming the closest; Phil Pabich for having the most education; Chuck McQuillan for the newest baby. The classmate with the least amount of hair was Ken Salvach. Vicki (Hicks) Moskiewicz was married the longest, with the least children, and was also the last to send in her reservation. Mary Ann (Szczech) Boh will be the next parents, and received an award.

It was voted to hold another reunion in ten years, with Rich Boie nominated as chairman.

Class members present on one of both evenings were: Peggy (Alger) Maier, Green Bay; Louis Andruszkiewicz of Thorp; Larry Bandor of Milwaukee; Ed Barth of Stanley; Joe Bielecki of Thorp; Rich Boie of Thorp; Mary Ann (Budzinski) Truckey of Thorp; Suzanne (Burmeister) Gessler of Milwaukee; Marge (Buss) Cerven of Stillwater, Minnesota; Bettie (Butek) Valek of Oak Lawn, Illinois; Bob Butek of Franklin Park, Illinois; Larry Ciolkosz of Plymouth; Rick Dallas of Thorp; Jim Danielewicz of Eau Claire; Carol (Fisher) Bower of Big Bend; Karen (Giwojna) Wisnewski of Milwaukee; John Gostomski of Millard, Nebraska; Jerry Hadzima of Chicago; Caroline (Hempleman) Halida of Sheboygan; Vicki (Hicks) Moskiewicz of St. Paul; Pat (Hmielak) Maertens of Minneapolis, Minnesota; Pat Keating of Milwaukee; Ray Kmieciak of Thorp; Becky (Kuester) LaBonte of Chippewa Falls; John Lindquist of Thorp; Ken Maier of Green Bay; Chuck McQuillan of Gillett; Delores Milawski of Bayport, Minnesota; Phil Pabich of Madison; Karla Podhola of Cornell; Marlene (Raether) Duce of Stanley; Dave Roberts of Milwaukee; Ron Rosiejka of Helenville; Sharon (Ruda) Dallas of Thorp; Ken Salvack of Milwaukee; Ramona Schmidt of Eau Claire; Max Schultze Jr. of Stanley; Mary Ann (Szczech) Boh of Marshfield; Marline (Szymanski) Juzwiak of Thorp; and Jerry Tomczak of Withee.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel