Hewett Township Schools

Clark County, Wisconsin


The Columbia School was the site of many community events. The roof also provided a place for ambitious Halloween pranksters to reassemble buggies.



Clark County Index


Columbia School

Photo & History

Jonkel Memories of Columbia School


Columbia Students seated from left to right are Helenda Varney, Martha Bornholdt, Maraquilt McKinney Laura Ehlert, Margaret Langusch, Loyd Varney, Emil Horak, Mikie Horak, Ernest Sollberger, Willie Sollberger, and Arvin Varney.


Numbered are - 1. Charlie Malek, 2. Willie Langusch, 3. Frankie Moravec, 4. Glen Christmas, 5. Grant Rotleff, 6. Albert McKinney, 7. Tony Putz, 8. Earl Schmidt, 9. John Larson, 10. Fredrick Walport, 11. Leo Schwedland, 12. Ruth Iverson, 13. Bernita Winton, 14. Ethel Varney, 15. Josie Horak, 16, Bernice Winton, 17. Frankie Tykac, 18. Theodore Tykac, 19. Louise Ehlert, 20. Emil Tykac, 21. Vivian Achenbach, 22. Carl Ehlert, 23. Mabel Tyler (Teacher in "big room"), 24. Erich Ehlert, 25. Albert Sollberger, 26. John Martens, 27. John Varney, 28. Edna Klopf (Teacher in "lower room").



Located in Section 12.


1910 Classes

1952-1953 Class photo


Sunny Nook

Located 1/2 mile north of the Grimes Grave, on Fischer Rd, and on the east side of the road, in section 34.



Hewett Schools Time Line



School: Hewett Township School Building Contract (18 Sep 1880)

September, 1880--Samuel Calway has completed the new school house in District No. 1, town of Hewett. It has been examined by the committee, found to be in accordance with the contract and accepted. Clark County Press

1880 Census: Children Living in Hewett Township, Clark Co., WI



In the early 1890’s a one room school was built. Anna Wright from Neillsville was the first teacher. Then came Inez Short, Susie Korman, Grace Fergusen, Myrtle Beardsley and Mayme Breed. Inez Short married a Columbia boy, Fred Wright.



In 1900 the school building become to small as there were about 85 pupils. A four room school was built with two rooms on the main floor being used for up to grade eight. It was the though that as Columbia grew in population the upstairs would be used for higher grades. The upper floor was used as an auditorium as it had a stage. Many home talent plays were given there.


Mabel Tyler and Edna Klopf of Neillsville took over as principal and primary teachers for several years.

As attendance declined the school was put back to one teacher again with Tress Haas of Spring Valley. Following her were Myrtle Evans, Clara Lynch, Gladys Johnson, Gertrude Rogers, Ferol Leopold, Anna Seaman, Howard Rogers, Amos Boh, Arthur Zank, Anna Schare, Rolland Barrett, Elsie Zank and Irma Ackerman. Irma married a Columbia boy, William Sollberger, she being the last teacher. Between Irma’s terms there were Elva Barbusch, Christians Daniels, Leila Raine, Ethel Walker and Martha Traschell. After school closed, the pupils were bussed elsewhere.




School busses lined up in from of Schlender’s store in 1908. Rigs were driven by: Frank Lockman, Roy Iverson, Ivar Christofferson, and Fritz Moser.





Town of Hewett Teacher and Graduates--Hewettville School (Mrs. Lillian Meyer) – Chester Hart, James Beul




Town of Hewett Teacher and Graduates--Mrs. Lillian Meyer---Nancy Clodffelter



Return to the Hewett Main Page






© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel