York Township Schools

         Clark County, Wisconsin



The Schools of York were organized by 1880 into districts much as they were to remain, Jt. 4 (with Grant) was known as the Windfall School and served the southeastern part of the town, with 24 families being taxed.  Jt. 3 was in the County Farm area and was known also as the Northrup School.  There were 21 taxpayers in the York area in the district (1880).  Jt. 2 was known as the Forman School and had the smallest area in the town.  In 1884 the only taxpayers in York that were in the district were Wm. Anthony, S. Beach, Chester Cook, Chas. Pratt, Ed Turner, and A. Whalen.

No. 1 was known as the Palmer School and was the largest in early times.  The log school was one of the earliest to be established.  There were 31 taxpayers in 1884.  This became the Lincoln School and was divided into two districts in 1907.  The northern part became Pleasant View School.  No. 2 (the Parrett School) became Oriole School in later times.  There were 14 taxpayers in 1884.  No. 3 was to become Merry Vale.  There were 38 taxpayers in 1884.  No. 4 was known as the Garbisch School and later as Romadka, the taxpayers in 1884 numbered only 12.

Excerpt from "The Centennial History of the York Center United Methodist Church (1880 - 1980) and the Town of York (1857 - 1980), page 83.

York Township Schools


Happy Hollow

Lincoln (formerly Palmer)

Merry Vale

Oriole Hill

Pleasant View



Clark County Schools





© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel